J’aime Bisou!!!

I had SUCH a wonderful evening last night with two of my favorite dinner dates, Julie & Kate.  The night lived up to everything that I was hoping for…. great food, laughter, gossip, and the most awesome dessert platter in the world!  I am warning all of you to get a towel ready, because by the end of this post, if you’re not drooling, then you’ve got some major problems!

Belgian White Beer

Recently I had read about a French Bistro restaurant in the Castro District called Bisou.  It called for classic French food at affordable prices.  And man did it live up to everything I read and more!!!

I started out the evening with a Belgian white beer… Yes, you heard me right, Alex orders a beer?!  Haha, it’s kinda my new fav!  Very light and refreshing and exactly what I needed after a long day of work… and lack of customers buying anything!

Then onto the good stuff…Escargot!!!  I haven’t had Escargot since I was in Paris with my family way back in the Summer of 2005!(Man, that is way too long ago!).  Luckily they came de-shelled(no Julia Roberts “slippery little suckers” moment for me!  Damnit!  You know how I love channeling Pretty Woman!)  Umm… snails doused in roasted garlic, shallots, butter, red wine and parsley on pain levin bread!  Absolutely divine you guys!

Slipper Little Suckers

Off to my entree which was AMAZING!  I had the pleasure of devouring every last morsel of the Vegetables and Sage.  This dish included mushrooms, spinach, butternut squash, chestnuts, baby carrots, and zucchini in sage sauce.  If I wasn’t in public I probably would have licked this plate clean!  And Kate & Julie both agreed that it was pretty rocking!  Their entrees were the Halibut and the Scallops which they both loved as well.

Veggies and Sage

Now…onto more important matters: Dessert!  We were having a tough time deciding what desserts to get.  So our fabulous waiter/host of the evening (Damion) recommended the 4 dessert platter for $24!  We obliged and were shocked when it arrived.  It was a master piece that after a cool 3 minutes we had destroyed every last bit!  Haha.  (I have included  a before and after shot of our plate…and I am so happy that my camera does not post time stamps, because I’m not kidding about the 3 minutes!)  The platter included a pistachio macaron with fresh raspberries on the inside, a pineapple and sorbet mix in a sugar bowl, a mint mille feuilles, and the piece de la resistance…the chocolate mousse with caramel filling.  Everything was edible on this plate…even the whipped cream on the sides.  As you can see, we 3 ladies take our desserts VERY seriously!

Dessert Before

And as I had mentioned before, but not to full extent, our server Damion went above and beyond to make this such a great experience.  He even brought us complimentary champagne cocktails with our dessert!  (I think he was enjoying watching us enjoy the food and listening to our “oohs” and “aahs” all night long!)  Even our bus boy(whom I am sad to say, I did not get his name) was wonderful.

Dessert After

Such a great time was had last night, and I cannot wait to go back to Bisou for brunch!  Anyone craving a Croque Monsieur call me up and I will meet you at the corner of Market & Castro!

Au revoirs mes amis!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

