Presto Pesto and Brussel Sprouts, mmm

With the long awaited return of my boss Sarah from Italy, it’s made me think about my Europe trip back in 2008,err 2007(can’t believe it was that long ago!) with Whitney(PS…if you go to that link, you will see our blog from that trip.  Totally just made me cry looking at it!  I love you Whit!!!).  And one of my favorite memories of that time, was our dinner in the court yard in Florence that was just absolutely stunning!  The weather was perfect, the people watching was amazing, and the pesto was to die for!!!  So tonight, I decided to be adventurous and make some homemade pesto sauce.

After searching the internet for recipes, I choose the following:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 3 tsp Parmesan cheese
  • 1 clove garlic

Pretty Pesto in a Jar

Preperation:(I don’t have a food processor, so I just used the blender…same diff right?)

  • Add garlic & Parmesan to “processor”
  • Separate basil from stem and slowly add
  • While processing, add olive oil one tbsp at a time.

Pesto Close Up

And, that’s it!  I added it to my whole wheat pasta and some fabulous roasted Brussels sprouts with red onions.

Dinner is served!

I always wanted a cow...true story!

Arrivederci!  I’m off to enjoy a Skinny Cow French Vanilla Truffle Bar.  Should have gotten gelato to round off my Italian dinner but wasn’t really thinking at the time.  Maybe some Prosecco instead will do the cure, it is my Saturday night ya know!

If all goes well with the weather tomorrow, you might see me surfing the beach in Bolinas.  Gotta get my arm workout in somewhere! 😉 Ciao!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Presto Pesto and Brussel Sprouts, mmm

  1. Jenny Buck says:

    Looks good. Homemade Pesto is the best!!!!! It smells up the house, but I dont mind

  2. Jenny Buck says:

    Every thing…
    I should make some this weekend. Dave will love it… LOL not really

  3. Jenny Buck says:

    Hey by the way you take great pic!

Leave a Reply

