“You Don’t Spell It Son, You Eat It!”

Haha, if you can tell me what movie that’s from I will totally bake you some cookies and send them your way!(Miranda, you are not allowed to play, as I know you know it!)

I made my first ever quiche today!!!!  But let me tell you about my day before I get into all the egg, cheese, tortilla(ya, you heard me right) goodness.

Lots and Lots of Plates

Today I had the pleasure of meeting up with some old faces for lunch.  A while back I used to be an assistant/mentor(even though Jackson now won’t admit that it was part of my job!haha) to a truly remarkable family.  I miss my days of working with them, as it really was more like having fun and being around loving people more than work.

Village Grill

We met at the Village Grill in West Portal.  Cute little spot, with dishes on the walls, and the smell of omelets and pancakes wafting through the place.  We apparently grabbed the right booth, as all the plates next to us were of Princess Diana!  Don’t you just love feasting with royalty??  Now if only Prince Harry would have attended, dangit!

The meal was simple, I had the avacado, tomato, and cheese sandwich on whole wheat.  Not really picture worthy, so sorry I didn’t snap one.

Me and the grown human boy!

The meal was definitely more focused on catching up with them.  Both Jaime and Jackson have wonderful things going on in their lives, and it was just great to hear all about it.  (Jaime is actually launching their own Gin line from their Colorado Springs!  I will keep you all informed when it’s for sale to the masses…because from previous posts, you know how much this gal enjoys her G&T’s!)

After all of that funness, I was off to do some not-s0-fun-but-much-needed laundry!  Ugh, who else dreads doing laundry?  I mean, back in the day when I had my own washer/dryer, it was great.  But having to schlep it all to the laundromat is NEVER fun!

Now…onto my QUICHE!  I saw this recipe circling around the blogosphere and I just had to try it!  It is a Tortilla Crusted Veggie Quiche.  You can do this many ways, but here is how I did it:

Steaming Hot Veggies

  • Preheat the oven for 375
  • In a skillet, saute 1/2 red onion, 1/2 portobello mushroom, 2 cups chopped spinach with 2tbs extra virgin olive oil for 3 minutes.
  • Boil 1 1/2 cups of chopped asparagus.
  • Grease a pie pan, and line it with 3 whole wheat tortillas.
  • Spread sauteed veggies on top of tortillas.
  • Add 1/2 cup of desired cheese.
  • In a bowl, whisk 6 egg whites and 1/2 cup greek yogurt.
  • Add the mixture over the veggies and then pop in oven for 30 minutes.
  • Let the quiche cool for 10 minutes, and then ENJOY!

    Sprinkle of Cheesie Goodness

Eggolicious

Taste test:  Unreal you guys!!!  Ridiculously easy to make and extremely yummy.  I loved the tortilla crust…it just made it different.  Definitely a great breakfast dish too!  Hmm, wonder what I will be doing for b-fast tomorrow???

Slice of Heaven

Also…look what’s back in our lives!  Jean Pierre’s motorcycle has been out of commission for almost 2 years now, due to a broken mirror and registration issues, etc.  But the baby is back and running and I am dying for it to be better weather so we can go on a joy ride!

Vroom, Vroom

Do any of you have a fun activity that you used to do but haven’t done in a while?  Back in the day, Jean Pierre and I would go on motorcycle rides ALL the time, so I am thrilled to be able to do it again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “You Don’t Spell It Son, You Eat It!”

  1. joey says:

    Sixteen Candles!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Sixteen Candles right?!

  3. Jenny Buck says:

    What a great movie!!!!!! the quiche looks soooo good. I have a good recipe for one. I will have to find it tonight and send it to you. I think that we should put togther a new family cook book. Let me know, we could work on it togther.

  4. Jenny Buck says:

    That is Weird…. You have to tell me how it is…… I want to eat it right now!!!

Leave a Reply

