Bakin a Pizza Pie!

If you have not encountered the process of making your own pizza with ingredients from Trader Joe’s, I highly recommend it!  The dough comes pre-made in a baggie, and all you have to do is roll it out, load up on the toppings, throw it in the oven, and stuff your face! Exactly what Jean Pierre and I did tonight 😉

I saw a recipe on Eat, Live, Run for a cheesy zucchini pizza and immediately started drooling.  Here’s what you need:

  • Trader Joe’s pizza dough(we chose the garlic herb kind)
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Shredded mozarella cheese
  • 2 zucchini’s(instead of zucchini I did yellow squash)
  • I also added shitake mushrooms & tomato’s

doughy goodness(and my drool on the right, haha, jk)

Let the dough sit out for 20 minutes to thaw out.  While doing that, grate the squash(yes, grate!).  Make sure to dry out the grated squash to get all of the moisture out.  I just used a paper towel.  Mix the grated squash with 1 cup shredded mozarella in a bowl, and add salt & pepper to taste.  Then begin to roll out your dough to a shape you want(or whatever it allows you to).  Don’t forget to sprinkle some flour on the surface so it doesn’t stick to your counter!  Once rolled out to pie shape, spread 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese on it.  *Note, I halved the original recipe since Joey and I split the dough.  Add the squash and mozarella(and any other toppings your heart desires).  Pop in the oven at 450 for 10-12 minutes.  And voila, you’ve got your very own pizza pie!

Hers...

Tonight I had another Julia Roberts moment.  Have I ever mentioned my love for Mystic Pizza???  Ya I know, it’s cheesy(pun intended), but it’s a classic and if you haven’t seen it, I will bring it over and we can make pizza while watching.  That’s a promise;)

His...

Of course Jean Pierre did not eat my version of pizza, he opted for some pepperoni, marinara sauce & a little bit of euro style with an egg on top(don’t know where he gets that from!).   Ok, off to watch Sherlock Holmes…it’s been on our netflix list forever!  I think we need to make Sunday night pizza & a movie night!

Do you have a night of the week that you always have something?  I think Jean Pierre and I need to bring back Donut Wednesdays again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bakin a Pizza Pie!

  1. Jenny Buck says:

    Love that movie too. When we were moving Dave home form Maine. I saw signs for the real Mystic Pizza in Mystic CT. We did not go. and now I wish that we did.

  2. joey says:

    thanks for going with the Garlic & Herb dough. it really made me happy that you were able to go with something that you weren’t really wanting. maybe now i can get you to do other things!!! love you!

Leave a Reply

