My First Race

Warming Up

Lordie Lordie everyone, I just completed my first EVER race, the Bridge to Bridge 7k!  And man did I have a blast doing it!

Say, what's Jean Pierre looking at??? hmm

I have to say, going into this morning, I was quite nervous.  Last night I had a hard time staying asleep from all of the anxiety, and to top it off, I woke up this morning to lovely SF rain!  That’s right people, RAIN!  Luckily the weather turned around by the time that we got outside and it was just semi-gloomy in the beginning of the race, and then the sun started to peak through towards the finish line.

So SF

Jean Pierre, myself, and some of our friends literally started at the VERY back of the line.   Right before babies in strollers.   When the bell went off at the Ferry building for the race to begin at 9am, we stood there for a good 4-5 minutes until we actually were able to move.  Dodging people was pretty annoying from the get go, but towards mid race and the end, it was actually motivating me to go faster!  And it kept my mind off of how fast I was going & how much longer I had to go!  I finished!  And no one was around to take my picture...

The course was mainly flat, just going along the Embarcadero….and then at mile 3? a hill that you would have cried if you saw it, came about!  I turned around the corner, and there she was in all her glory.  When it comes to inclines I HAVE to charge them at full speed…otherwise I will pass out and cry on the ground.  The slow people around me definitely made it a challenge, but I looked at my Garmin while I was half way up the hill and it said I was going at it at 10.40minute/miles.  Which I don’t think is too shabby!There he is!

Jean Pierre surprisingly kept up with me for about 2 miles, and then he decided to “check on the rest of the group behind us”.  Hehe, I think that was just someones excuse from a day of angry Giants drinking the day before(PS, Giants just won and are now in the playoffs!  Wahoo!!!!).

The couple that runs together stays together, right?

I had SUCH a blast participating in this race and I am really proud of my finish time.  From someone who HATED running all of my life, and just started getting into it about 3 months ago, I was the 140th person(not just female) to finish the 7k, and my time was 39.10minutes!!!  Fastest time ever baby!  I guess I have to run through hoards of people more often.Liverpool Lil's.  Great decor, BAD lighting!

When I crossed the finish line, the announcer called my name, and everyone on the side lines were cheering us on.  I almost shed a tear I was either so exhausted or just so thrilled to have completed it.  I can only imagine what it’s going to feel like next week when I finish my Tough Mudders race with a run through fire!!!Chicken & Waffles...not too photogenic

After hanging out and getting all of our freebies at the concert afterwards, we decided to walk over to Liverpool Lil’s, a gastropub in the Marina, to finish watching the 49ers(lose) and have some grub.  I went for the veggie omelet which went down mighty fast.  And the guys opted for Lil’s specialty, the chicken & waffles.

Now that the race is over, and the Giants are off to the playoffs, I have to say that this October is turning around for me!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Race

  1. jaime says:

    CONGRATS!!! I am so excited and proud of you! 10 Years ago I did the Big Sur half with Jeff, my sister Jan, Jackson and my parents (who at the time were 70) I cried going over the finish line…Jackson was a tad delayed due to stopping to watch the belly dancers at mile 7!

  2. Jenny Buck says:

    CONGRATS! We are soooo proud of you. Next time I want to come and see you.
    Gooooo Alex

    • amfaay says:

      Thanks Jenny! And I would love to have you guys up here! Maybe I can run one someday down in San Diego and you can join! xoxo

      • Jenny Buck says:

        I dont know about me running….. i am not all that good at it. But I will be there to see you. 🙂 Kimmy is really good at running, so is Nathan.

  3. joey says:

    what? i did stop to see my friends! i’m a team runner, who cares about time? hehe. fine, 10K for Thanksgiving, it’s on!

    and did you look at the results based on age, you came in 15th for ages 17-29! great job!

Leave a Reply

