“Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

Sorry for the lack of blogging this week….as many of you know, it’s been a very busy one for me.  And lots of life changes are about to happen.  First off, I have decided to resign from my job effective the 23rd.   I’ve worked there for over 5 years, and am ready to find my next adventure.  I am deeply saddened at this decision, but at the same, I am excited for the future.  I want to work more in the background of fashion, doing the buying and trend forecasting/styling.  So I’m currently looking for a position either here in SF or in NYC!!!  Aaahh….  Yes, you read right, NEW YORK!  I don’t know what the future holds for me, but right now, I plan to take it easy, and enjoy the month of January just doing what I want to do and decompress my life.  Maybe a roadtrip to So Cal is in my near future 😉  Daisy is itching to drive down the coast!

I promised earlier that I would post the recipes for my Thanksgiving treats, so here you go!  Sorry it took me so long…

Sweet Potato Biscuits:

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat biscuit mix
  • 2 tbsp chilled unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup lowfat buttermilk
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice

Directions:

Wrap sweet potato in a paper towel.  Microwave on high until soft, 4 minutes.  Scoop flesh into a bowl and mash; set aside.  Heat oven to 400 degrees.  Place biscuit mix and butter in a bowl; rub butter into mix with fingertips until large pea-sized crumbs form.  Add sweet potato, buttermilk, and allspice; mix until just combined.  Transfer dough onto a cookie sheet and form into a 12″x4″ rectangle.  Cut into 8 rectangles with a serrated knife and separate slightly. Bake until biscuits are firm to the touch, 8 to 10 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.  Once cool, store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

*124 calories per biscuit, 5g fat, 15g carbs, 2g fiber, 3g protein

Pear, Mushroom and Pomegranate Stuffing:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 10 oz cremini mushrooms
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 8 large sage leaves
  • 2 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1 demi whole wheat baguette, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 large anjou or bartlett pear, cored and cubed
  • 1/4 cup pitted prunes, chopped
  • 1 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup pomegranate juice

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat.  Cook mushrooms, celery, sage and thyme, stirring often, until mushrooms and celery soften, 6 to 8 minutes; season with salt and pepper.  Transfer to a bowl; add baguette cubes, pear, prunes, broth and juice. Mix well and let rest until bread absorbs liquid.  Transfer to an 8″x8″ baking dish; cover with foil. Bake 40 minutes, remove foil and bake until stuffing puffs up, about 5 minutes.

*135 calories per serving(makes 8), 2g fat, 26g carbs, 3g fiber, 5g protein.

I hope you all enjoy these dishes as much as I did!  Going to make the stuffing again for Christmas dinner, and might just make the biscuits this weekend if I have time.  Happy Friday everyone!!!! xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

