46 Days for the Hardcore Catholics!

It’s that time of year again, LENT!  When we get to sacrifice something that we love for 40 days and focus on bringing positive aspects into our lives.  It was brought to my attention that apparently during Lent, each Sunday is like a “mini-Easter”, where you get a day of rest from the things that you are sacrificing.  Did anyone else know about this???  Check it out on Wikipedia.

I however, will be sticking to the way that I was brought up and go the full amount of Lent without….wait for it…..:

  • Using my Credit Cards
  • Drinking my bubbles, aka, Champagne

Aside from family, Jean Pierre, & JD, these are pretty much my favorite things in the world!  Ahaha, ok, not really.  But I do love them.  This is going to be extremely difficult for me, but I am thinking that I will feel so much better once Lent is over with.  Why you ask?  Well, A.  I will have brought down my debt significantly.  And B.  Less hangovers!  Wahoo.  In the words of Charlie Sheen, I think I will be “WINNING!”.

If you are participating in Lent, what is your goal?  And will you be honoring the “mini-Easters”???


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 46 Days for the Hardcore Catholics!

  1. Aunt Gig says:

    I will also be participating. I will be giving up sugar. No more baking for me for 40 days. I don’t know who will suffer more, John or I. Mini-Easter, never heard of it, do not intent to honor it. Love you.

  2. jaime says:

    Great blog today! That whole take a” mini break” thing is interesting ( I, like your Aunt, do not intend to honor it) I had NEVER in my life heard of that until we moved to San Fran..then Jackson came home and said he learned that from the Priest at school. Of course, I picked up the phone and called the Priest, who told me that it was common to teach the kids that..so that Lent would not be “too hard” for the kids and set them up for failure……I am sure you can imagine my response back. Anyway, this year I am fasting from fear (and sugar) and feasting on more phone calls with my long distance family and friends. Love you Alex, and love all your photos, questions and thoughts! xxoo

  3. Mom says:

    Well I guess I don’t have to get any bubblie for this weekend – DRATS.

  4. joey says:

    this will get me in trouble, but i’ll play the Devil’s Advocate…

    so if the Pope decides to change the Holy Day to be Saturday, will people not follow that because they weren’t taught that growing up? a few years ago, St. Patrick’s day fell on a Friday and the Pope allowed people to celebrate with corned beef and cabbage. is that still not right?

    i’m going to go find Jackson’s priest and have him give me the easy way out! hehe.

  5. Miran says:

    I don’t know if I want to give something up this year??? I’m trying to think of something good to do instead, but I need help brainstorming! Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

