Back to School I Go

Yoga school that is 😉  Yes friends and family, I have kept a little secret for a bit of time now… I have decided to become a certified Yoga instructor.  I have fallen in love with everything about Yoga and I want to share that with others so they can feel all the love that I do.  Yoga is so much more about meditating and finding ones self than it is about the actual postures you do in class.  I promise to share more with you all as I embark on this hopefully, life altering, journey.  Here are all the books that I will need to read in the next couple of months:

I started off with the book “Happy Yoga: 7 Reasons there’s nothing to worry about” by Steve Ross.  And I have to say, so far I am enjoying every bit of it!  I highly recommend this book to everyone that wants to find love, happiness, and peace in life.  I have already began practicing his teachings and can say that I feel lighter, freer, and maybe just a bit wiser(haha, jk).  You don’t even have to practice yoga to benefit from this book.  As I said previously, yoga is more about what’s happening inside of you then the outside.  Yogi’s use the body to calm and free the mind.  Please go buy this book immediately!  You will not regret it!Not only am I reading that book.  But I also was given the assignment to read a parenting book(don’t worry, it’s not for me.  Ha) for my day job as a nanny.  And I am also reading “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer.  I have had this book for maybe a year now and just never got around to reading it.  But I also highly recommend this to anyone that wants to be smart about their food choices.  Not saying that it is right to be vegetarian, but just don’t be ignorant about where your meat comes from.  Even dairy and eggs for that matter too.  Just because it says cage free, doesn’t actually mean that the birds the eggs came from got to run around.(If you want me to elaborate on this I totally will)  All I can say is support family farms.  They are 1% of where all animal products come from in this country.  They are our last hope of feeding our children meat that has not been injected with foreign substances, and deprived of their natural habitats/way of life.  If you want a great one to buy beef from, visit Lindauer Farms.  They have all natural, pasture raised, grass fed cows.  Be smart people, and know that if you want quality you should spend the money for it.  Don’t waste money on meat that is factory farmed.  Yes, it’s cheaper, but it will cost you and your families health in the long run.  Ok…enough ranting.  And no, Jean Pierre, you may not comment on this subject 😉 Hehe.

Oh and other exciting news…Since I have began reading again, I have given up mindless TV watching.  I allow myself one “bad” show per day.  “Bad” meaning reality, or programing that is more of an escape for me, than it is doing my brain any good.  Example: The Bachelorette, or Khloe & Lamar(I just can’t help myself!).  Haha.  I am also a person that has the habit of leaving the TV on just for background noise, even when I am not watching it.  So I have learned to turn it off and enjoy peace & quiet, or I put on my ipod for some relaxing music.  If you are just like me, try experimenting with this.  It’s amazing once you realize that you don’t need television to fulfill your day.

Just a few more days and then Jean Pierre and I are off to Vegas baby!  I will take lots of pictures and I hope to post some of them while we have some down time in Sin City.

Reading any amazing books right now?  Feel free to comment.  Happy ALMOST Friday everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to School I Go

  1. Miran says:

    Along with your happiness theme… I’m reading The Happiness Project (available at Anthropologie). Next on my list is The Help. I find that if I have a deadline (the day the movie comes out) then I’ll actually finish the book 🙂

  2. Jenny says:

    I love that you are going to be a Yoga instructor. Sign me up for your 1st calss.
    if you come a across any thing for pregnancy back pain let me know. The CD that i have is no help at all.

  3. jaime says:

    WOW!!! I am very excited and proud of you! I just added the book you recommended to my Amazon cart, thank you! I read The Help and just loved it. I also recently finished Living the Life that Matters. Next on my night stand is The Girl who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson. THANK YOU for the natural beef shout out on Lindauer Family Farms!

Leave a Reply

